BackpackGearTest
  Guest - Not logged in 

Reviews > Clothing > Pants and Shorts > Stonewear Designs Dynamic Pant > Test Report by Marina Batzke

STONEWEAR DESIGNS DYNAMIC PANT
TEST SERIES BY MARINA BATZKE
LONG-TERM REPORT
October 05, 2017

CLICK HERE TO SKIP TO THE FIELD REPORT
CLICK HERE TO SKIP TO THE LONG-TERM REPORT

TESTER INFORMATION

NAME: Marina Batzke
EMAIL: mbbp2013 (at) yahoo (dot) com
AGE: 57
LOCATION: Los Angeles County, California, USA
GENDER: F
HEIGHT: 5' 5" (1.65 m)
WEIGHT: 132 lb (60.00 kg)

I converted from day hiking and car camping to backpacking in 2013. My backpacking trips are one or two weekend excursions per month in Southern California. The locations range from Joshua Tree National Park desert areas in the cooler months to mountainous elevations in the summer months. I always hike with a group and like the gear talk in camp. While I am looking for ways to lighten my pack, I am not an ultra-lighter: I like sleeping in a tent with a sleeping bag on a comfortable pad. In January 2017, I added snowshoeing to my winter activities.


INITIAL REPORT

PRODUCT INFORMATION & SPECIFICATIONS

Manufacturer: Walz/SewSporty Group
Year of Manufacture: 2017
Made in the USA of imported fabrics
Manufacturer's Website: http://www.stoneweardesigns.com
MSRP: US$95.00
Listed Weight: N/A
Measured Weight: 12.7 oz (360 g) for size Medium
Other details: available in colors Cargo (dark green) and Granite (gray)
Sizes: XS, S, M, L, XL

INITIAL IMPRESSIONS

Stonewear Designs Dynamic Pant is made from a lightweight woven four-way stretch fabric, consisting of 89% Nylon and 11% Spandex. This four-way stretch fabric is designed to be breathable, to wick away moisture and be quick drying. The fabric is described to also resist abrasion and guard against sun exposure with UPF 50+. The Ultraviolet Protection Factor of 50 only allows 1/50th of the UV radiation falling on the surface of the pant fabric to pass through it. The pant body is of granite gray color, while the elastic waistband is black. I like this color combination.
IMAGE 1
Stonewear Designs Dynamic Pant FRONT
IMAGE 2
BACK with one leg hem turned inside out

The pant's most unusual feature is its thick supportive elastic waistband, made from 90% Polyester and 10% Spandex. Instead of a front zipper and waistbelt button, the Dynamic Pant has a make-believe zipper fly stitching (a design feature with no functional purpose). The elastic waistband is 2.5 in (6.4 cm) tall with a 30 in (76 cm) circumference for the Medium size I am testing. The elastic waistband has an 0.5 in (1.3 cm) black fabric drawstring inside that I can pull and tie on the inside front of the Dynamic Pant. On the inside back, this black waistband has the Stonewear name and logo, the pant size and 'Made in USA of imported fabrics' imprinted. On the back outside, the black waistband has the Stonewear logo imprinted in reflective silver.

Another unusual feature is that each leg bottom has an interior leg hem that can be adjusted to capri length. An 0.5 in (1.3 cm) wide black fabric drawstring runs through the interior hem and juts out with a black plastic buckle that I can use to tighten the hem and thereby shorten the pant legs to capri length.

The Dynamic Pant has two open front pockets. The pant has one 5.5 in wide x 5 in tall (14 cm x 12.7 cm) zippered back pocket in the back right with the Stonewear logo imprinted in reflective silver. One 6 in x 6 in (15 cm x 15 cm) zippered cargo pocket is decoratively sewn on at an angle on the left leg, just above the knee.
IMAGE 3
Elastic waistband and no front zipper
IMAGE 4
Zippered knee area side-pocket and articulated knee

From crotch to lower hem, each leg has a 30 in (76 cm) inseam. The knee area of each pant leg has two extra side seams that build out the fabric in the knee area and give a bit more room for knee bending.

A thorough inspection of the Stonewear Designs Dynamic Pant shows me it is flawlessly made. I notice no loose threads and no bad seams. I like the looks, the soft touch of the fabric and the multiple pockets of the pant.

READING THE INSTRUCTIONS

Sewn into a left leg inside seam, hidden all the way down near the hem is a small tag that lists the fabrics used, explains that the pant is made in the USA from imported fabrics plus this tag shows the washing instructions. I shall machine wash the pant in cold water with like colors and no bleach. I shall line dry the pant only (no dryer). Pretty straightforward instructions and exactly what I always do with my hiking pants.

TRYING IT OUT

The size M pant is designed for a women's size 8 - 10 with a waist circumference from 29 - 31 in (74 - 79 cm). I pulled the Stonewear Designs Dynamic Pant on and it fit very well, both at my 31 in (79 cm) waist and my 30 in (76 cm) inseam leg length. The stretchy fabric is soft and pleasant on my skin. I like the articulated knee area which allows me to bend my knees without fabric tension.

The Dynamic Pant does not have zip-off legs to turn the long pant legs into shorts and does not have ankle zippers for easy on/off over boots. In general, I don't mind this, as due to the large portions of off-trail hiking that I do, I always wear long pants anyways. It is just that on very hot days, knee-area zippers allow opening the zipper just a bit to increase ventilation.

SUMMARY

IMMEDIATE LIKES:
Stretchy pant fabric
Elastic waistband
Pockets well-positioned and well-sized, some with zippers
Perfect leg length

UNUSUAL COMPARED TO MY OTHER HIKING PANTS:
No zip-off legs at knee level
No ankle-area zipper to pull pant leg over boots


FIELD REPORT

FIELD LOCATIONS AND CONDITIONS

Arizona, USA
May 2017
7 day vacation with day hikes and Grand Canyon rim-to-rim 24 miles (39 km)
Elevation: 2500 - 9000 ft (760 - 2740 m)
Temperature: 50 - 90 F (10 - 32 C)

Cooper Canyon Falls, Southern California, USA
June 2017
Dayhike 6 miles (10 km)
Elevation: 5700 - 6300 ft (1740 - 1920 m)
Temperature: 87 F (31 C)

Cooper Canyon Trail Camp, Southern California, USA
June 2017
2 day/ 1 night backpack 9 miles (15 km)
Elevation: 5700 - 6300 ft (1740 - 1920 m)
Temperature: 60 - 90 F (16 - 32 C)

Yosemite National Park, California, USA
July 2017
4 day/ 3 night backpack 19 miles (31 km)
Elevation: 4400 - 7200 ft (1340 - 2200 m)
Temperature: 60 - 90 F (16 - 32 C)

Little Jimmy Campground, Southern California, USA
July 2017
2 day/ 1 night backpack 6 miles (10 km)
Elevation: 6700 - 7500 ft (2040 - 2285 m)
Temperature: 65 - 80 F (18 - 27 C)

Marion Mountain, San Jacinto State Park, USA
July 2017
3 day/ 2 night backpack 14 miles (22.5 km)
Elevation: 4700 - 10320 ft (1430 - 3145 m)
Temperature: 51 - 65 F (11 - 18 C)

PERFORMANCE IN THE FIELD

I love wearing the Stonewear Designs Dynamic pant. The fit is great. The leg length is perfect for me. The fabric is pleasant on my skin. Many of my recent outings were at high summer temperatures of 90 F (32 C). Despite the heat and the hike workout, my legs were not heavily sweating underneath the pant fabric. Only one afternoon of all the various outings I used the capri pant tightening of the pant legs. I bunched the fabric up to right under my knee and pulled the black fabric strap really tight. It did not hinder my muscle movement and worked pretty well, holding the lower fabric up capri style.

During the Cooper Canyon Trail Camp backpack, we spent the hot afternoon at Cooper Canyon Falls and cooled off in the refreshing water. While the pant legs got soaking wet up to my knees, the fabric dried quickly and was dry when I arrived back in camp 45 minutes later.
IMAGE 1
Cooper Canyon Falls pond

IMAGE 2
Pen Holder? above my right knee


I had been wondering what the narrow stitching on the side of the right leg might be about. One of my friends mentioned that it looks ideal for a pen. Yes, it works as a pen holder.

I always use the zippered knee area side pocket for my small digital camera. The pocket is at a convenient height. While hiking, I reach down, unzip the pocket and it gives me quick access to my camera. My 5.75 in (14.6 cm) smartphone is too big for the 5 in (12.7 cm) pocket zipper. As for the other pockets, I never use the zippered back pocket and might just have a tissue in one of the front pockets.

Overall, the pant fabric has held up very well even though I hiked off-trail on several outings. On the recent Marion Mountain backpack, I hiked on stretches of trail that were a narrow path through catclaw type brush, clawing at the pant fabric. There are barely noticeable, very minor short thread snags in the sitting area and those might have happened climbing over downed logs on recent outings. But overall, the fabric is still in great shape. I love how the pant fabric stretches when I am climbing up big boulders or lift my legs high to scramble over a tree trunk that fell across the hiking path.

Several times I had tree sap stains on the pant fabric. Right away in camp, I used my alcohol-based hand sanitizer on the fabric and got the sticky sap off completely. The pant fabric shows no stains from this treatment.

I have machine washed the Stonewear Designs Dynamic pant after each outing (six times) and hung it to dry. The pant fabric itself dries very quickly, while the elastic waistband needs overnight drying.

Now to the one part that has me disappointed: the 2.5 in (6.4 cm) tall elastic inside the waistband is no longer flat. The elastic has creased and curled inside the waistband. It is a bit tedious trying to flatten the elastic after I pull the pant on. It is at this point practically impossible to straighten the unusually wide elastic. The elastic is more of a curl inside the black waistband.

Despite the by-now no longer flat elastic, the waistband not at all interferes with my tightened pack belt. Overall, the pant fits comfortably.

SUMMARY

I LIKE
the pleasant, soft and lightweight fabric
how the fabric stretches with extreme movement
the great cut/ shape of the pants
convenient location of zippered pocket above knee

I DON'T LIKE
the elastic no longer flat but curled


LONG-TERM REPORT

LONG-TERM TEST LOCATIONS AND CONDITIONS

San Jacinto Peak, Southern California, USA
August 2017
2 day/ 1 night backpack 11 miles (17.7 km)
Elevation: 8500 - 10830 ft (2590 - 3300 m)
Temperature: 50 - 74 F (10 - 23 C)
IMAGE 1
super stretchy pant fabric

Mt. Pinos, Los Padres National Forest, California, USA
September 2017
1 day off-trail navigation 5 miles (8 km)
Elevation: 8850 ft (2700 m)
Temperature: 50 - 70 F (10 - 21 C)
IMAGE 2
wearing pant with gaiters in Joshua Tree NP

Joshua Tree National Park. Southern California, USA
September 2017
2 day/ 1 night backpack 10 miles (16 km)
Elevation: 4000 - 5800 ft (1200 - 1770 m)
Temperature: 53 - 84 F (12 - 29 C)

Mt . Lowe, Southern California, USA
October 2017
Elevation: 5600 ft (1700 m)
Temperature: 95 F (35 C)

PERFORMANCE IN THE FIELD

I truly like wearing the Stonewear Designs Dynamic pant. The fabric feels very pleasant on my skin. Most of all I love the stretchy fabric. The Mt. Pinos navigation event and the Joshua Tree National Park outing were both entirely off-trail. I hiked up and down several narrow gullies that had accumulated a variety of obstacles, mostly fallen trees and big boulders. In the Stonewear pant, I can lift my legs high over the obstacles and notice no restriction by the fabric at all. The gusseted knees also make for a great fit.

In Joshua Tree National Park, we were encouraged to wear gaiters to cover the gap between pant and boots. We hiked through dried up, low-growing, clingy and spiky brush. The gaiters were very helpful preventing the clingy plant parts from getting into my boots, but quite a large number of these pesky hitchhikers stuck to the pant fabric up to my knees and stung through the fabric.
IMAGE 3
a few pulled threads at right knee

A close inspection of the pant shows just a few short pulled threads on the fabric surface. Some of these pulled threads are in the seating area, probably from sliding over boulders and tree logs. Overall the Stonewear pant is still looking good and I look forward to many more outings in this comfortable leg wear.

During the Joshua Tree outing, I noticed how well the pant wicks away moisture. While we were climbing up a steep section around noon with temperatures at a hot 84 F (29 C), I started feeling warm, especially because the pant legs were sealed off with the gaiters. Yet my legs never felt clammy or sweaty.

After each outing, I have machine washed the pant at the warm water setting and hung the pant to air-dry. Pant fabric and its waistband have been dry the next morning.

My preferred pocket is the zippered knee area side pocket that I love to use for my small digital camera.

The only issue with the pant is the all curled-up elastic in the waistband. I notice the curled elastic when I put the pant on in the morning and after each bathroom break. I have tried to flatten the rolled up elastic once the pant is in place on my hip. But to no avail: the elastic now has settled in as curled roll. Strangely enough, the pant waistband still sits perfectly well on my hips and does not at all interfere with my backpack's hip belt. So the rolled elastic is more annoying than hindering.

SUMMARY

I continue to enjoy the pleasant, soft and lightweight fabric with its wicking feature of the Stonewear Designs Dynamic Pant. I love how the fabric stretches with extreme movements. The pant has a comfortable fit and the zippered pocket at the knee is perfect for my camera.

While the elastic inside the black waistband is no longer flat but all curled-up, the pant waistband continues to fit well and the curled elastic does not interfere with my pack's hipbelt. After the 4-month test period, I can now say I prefer an elastic waistband over a zipper-and-button waistband and I hope Stonewear Designs finds an improved solution that avoids the rolling of the elastic.

Thank you very much to Stonewear Designs and BackpackGearTest.org for the opportunity to test the Dynamic pant with its innovative waistband.

This report was created with the BackpackGearTest.org Report Writer Version 1. Copyright 2017. All rights reserved.

Read more reviews of Stonewear Designs gear
Read more gear reviews by Marina Batzke

Reviews > Clothing > Pants and Shorts > Stonewear Designs Dynamic Pant > Test Report by Marina Batzke



Product tested and reviewed in each Formal Test Report has been provided free of charge by the manufacturer to BackpackGearTest.org. Upon completion of the Test Series the writer is permitted to keep the product. Owner Reviews are based on product owned by the reviewer personally unless otherwise noted.

If you are an avid backpacker, we are always looking for enthusiastic, quality reviewers. Apply here to be a gear tester.


All material on this site is the exclusive property of BackpackGearTest.org.
BackpackGearTest software copyright David Anderson