BackpackGearTest
  Home Guest - Not logged in 

Reviews > Cook Gear > Cooking Accessories > Stanley Nineteen 13 Vacuum Bottle > Test Report by jerry adams

STANLEY NINETEEN 13 VACUUM BOTTLE
TEST SERIES BY JERRY ADAMS
LONG-TERM REPORT

INITIAL REPORT - March 27, 2010
FIELD REPORT - May 30, 2010
LONG TERM REPORT - August 01, 2010

TESTER INFORMATION

NAME: Jerry Adams
EMAIL: jerryaadamsatyahoodotcom
AGE: 56
LOCATION: Portland, Oregon, USA
GENDER: m
HEIGHT: 6' 1" (1.85 m)
WEIGHT: 190 lb (86.20 kg)

I started hiking about 45 years ago. My first backpack was 40 years ago. I currently try to do one backpack trip of 1 to 5 nights every month (which can be tricky in the winter). Mostly I stay around Mount Hood, Columbia Gorge, Mount Adams, Goat Rocks, and the Olympic Peninsula. In recent years I have shifted to lightweight - my pack weight without food and water is about 15 lb (7 kg). I make a lot of my own gear - silnylon tarp-tent, bivy, synthetic bag, simple bag style pack. My sleeping pad is a Therm-a-Rest air mattress.


INITIAL REPORT

PRODUCT INFORMATION & SPECIFICATIONS

Manufacturer: Pacific Market International
Year of Manufacture: 2010
Manufacturer's Website: http://www.stanley-pmi.com
Measured Weight: 10.1oz (286 g) bottle with stopper
1.6 oz (45 g) lid
9 inches (229 mm) high
2 7/8 inches (73 mm) in diameter (not including handle of lid)
holds 16 ounces (473 ml) of liquid

The Stanley Nineteen 13 vacuum bottle is a stainless steel vacuum bottle designed to keep hot or cold beverages hot or cold.

The outside is painted black with a stylish red design. There are a number of other designs in the nineteen 13 line.

The bottle consists of 4 parts:
the bottle
the stopper
a gasket to seal the stopper to the bottle, appears to be made of silicone
a lid which is a 6 ounce (177 ml) cup with handle

IMAGE 1

IMAGE 2

IMAGE 3

IMAGE 4

On the bottom of the bottle it says it's made in China, hand wash only do not microwave, and the size (16 ounces 473 ml).

On the stopper and the lid it says Stanley (R).

I verified the capacity by weighing the bottle empty, and then adding water to make it 1.04 pound (473 g) heavier, which is 1 pint (473 ml).

INITIAL IMPRESSIONS

The gasket comes off easily to wash it. It's a little more difficult to figure out how to put it back on.

There are a couple minor scratches on the black paint on the outside of the bottle, but this is cosmetic only and I will scratch it more than this after using it for a while.

I filled it with hot water and screwed on the stopper, which screwed on easily. It required a fair amount of pressure to get it snug, as is typical of vacuum bottles. I turned it upside down for a while and it didn't leak.
The cup/lid screws on easily and stays in place nicely.

Thanks to Stanley PMI and backpackgeartest.org for letting me test this.

Look forward to my field report in two months.


FIELD REPORT

FIELD LOCATIONS AND CONDITIONS

I tested the vacuum bottle at home. I put in water that was 189 F (87 C). 4 hours later it was 169 F (76 C). 24 hours later it was warm 119 F (48 C). The test was done at approximate room temperature 70 F (21 C).

8 times I took hot tea with me to the trailhead for day hikes, and had hot tea to drink at the end of the hike.

I did a 5 night car camp and made hot tea in the morning and drank it at noon. It was nice to have hot tea.

On 4/22/2010 I did a 3 night backpack and 2 day car camp on the Metolius River in central Oregon. 25 mile (40 km) backpack and 8 mile (13 km) day hike. 28 to 65 F (-2 to 18 C). I took the bottle with me on the backpack. It was nice how it kept my water cold during the backpack. I took hot tea with me on the day hike which was nice because it was cool that day.

I took the bottle with cold water and a few ice cubes on a day hike to Angel's Rest in Northern Oregon Columbia Gorge. It was a 8.5 mile (14 km) hike. 60 to 75 F (16 to 24 C). I got fairly hot so it was nice having ice cold water.


PERFORMANCE IN THE FIELD

The weight of the Stanley Vacuum (10 ounces, 290 g) is too much to fit into my lightweight backpacking budget, but I tried it anyway just to see if this weight was worth carrying. My normal water bottle weighs 1 ounce (28 g).

When hiking in warm weather, with my plastic water bottle, the water does not stay cold. With the Stanley bottle it stayed cold which was nice.

When hiking in cold weather, I drink cold water out of my plastic bottle which satisfies thirst, but when I put hot tea in the Stanley bottle, it was nice having a hot drink to warm me up a little. Actually, there are times when this might almost be a survival item helping warm me up to avoid hyperthermia.

I never had a problem with leakage - the stopper worked perfectly. I laid the bottle sideways in my daypack:

IMAGE 1

I drank directly out of the bottle. No problem with the edge being uncomfortably sharp or anything.

There was no sign of wear, but this test is way too short to evaluate that.


SUMMARY

The Stanley Nineteen Vacuum Bottle keeps beverages warm or cold as I would expect. During a hot hike, a regular plastic bottle will have warm water in it by the end of the day, but the Stanley bottle will still be cold. Same thing for hot beverages in cold weather. This is very nice.

The opening of the bottle is big enough to fit smaller ice cubes. I had to fill the ice cube tray only part way to keep the ice cubes small enough to fit.

The weight of the bottle is too much to fit into my backpacking weight budget and any benefit I experienced doesn't change this. For day hiking, I'm a little more tolerant of some extra weight, so the benefit may well justify the extra weight. The best use of the Stanley Bottle is to keep a hot or cold beverage back at the trailhead for when I'm done with my hike.

The Stanley bottle is well made, doesn't leak, and took the abuse I gave it .

Stay tuned for the Long Term Report in about two months. I'll do the same amount of testing for this test. I'll do more "keeping cold" tests because it'll be warmer then.


LONG-TERM REPORT

LONG-TERM TEST LOCATIONS AND CONDITIONS

June 8, 2010 - I did a two night backpack (14 miles, 23 km), 4 night car camp, and 6 mile (10 km) day hike in Hart Mountain Refuge in South central Oregon. 30 to 75 F (-1 to 24 C). I carried hot tea while hiking and used it when camping to make hot tea. Several times I carried hot tea while driving and drank it as I went along.

Here is the Stanley bottle next to my stove and water bag at Hart Mountain refuge:
IMAGE 1

July 16 - I did a 2 night backpack Elk Cove on Mount Hood in North central Oregon, 17 miles (27 km). 3500 feet elevation gain (1000 m). 50 to 65 F (10 to 18 C). I also did 2 nights of car camping. The vacuum bottle kept water ice cold for hours.

I also used the vacuum bottle on several car camping trips and day hikes.

I also used it at home in the yard a number of days when it was hot (90 F, 32 C). I filled the vacuum bottle with cold water and two ice cubes, which kept cold for a couple hours while I was drinking it.

I also used it around town a number of times, with hot tea.

PERFORMANCE IN THE FIELD

The vacuum bottle worked well with hot drinks in cold weather, or cold drinks in hot weather. It maintained temperature for a couple hours while I was hiking, or while it was in the car waiting for my return.

I like the stainless steel because it doesn't absorb flavors and withstands heat. Plastic is not good in either of these cases.

Like I said in my field report, the weight of the Stanley Nineteen 13 Vacuum Bottle is a bit much to fit into my backpacking weight budget. I took the vacuum bottle on a couple more backpacking trips during the long term test period, where it proved useful, but my concern about weight was not eliminated.

The best use of the bottle was day hiking, in which case the weight wasn't important, or in the car driving to the trailhead, where I could have a hot or cold beverage before leaving on a backpack, or, after a hot hike, it's nice to have an ice cold drink waiting for me back at the car.

Even better than hiking or backpacking, the bottle was useful around town or working in my yard. For example, when it was hot, I filled the bottle with cold water and two ice cubes and it stayed ice cold for a couple hours. When I had a regular glass or bottle, it quickly warmed up and water condensed on the outside which made a mess.

One problem was, if I filled it with ice cubes and water, it took forever for the ice cubes to melt so there wasn't enough water to drink. Similarly, if I put hot coffee or tea in the bottle, it stayed too hot to drink. It was a bit difficult to get it cooled off enough to drink.

SUMMARY

The Stanley Nineteen 13 Vacuum Bottle is very effective at keeping hot beverages hot and cold beverages cold. I found the 16 ounce (1/2 liter) size to be convenient.

Over the course of my 4 month test, I banged it around a bit but it remained undented, although the paint was chipped at a few places, especially on the bottom.

The stopper did not leak, even when stored sideways or upside down.

The only negative is that it weighs a lot for backpacking - 10 ounces (286 g). My regular water bottle weighs 1 ounce (28 g).

I won't be using this in the future on backpacking trips, because of the weight, but I will be using it on day hikes, on the way to the trailhead in my car, around town, and working in my yard.

Thanks to Stanley and backpackgeartest.org for letting me test this.

This report was created with the BackpackGearTest.org Report Writer Version 1.5 Copyright 2010. All rights reserved.

Read more reviews of Stanley PMI gear
Read more gear reviews by jerry adams

Reviews > Cook Gear > Cooking Accessories > Stanley Nineteen 13 Vacuum Bottle > Test Report by jerry adams



Product tested and reviewed in each Formal Test Report has been provided free of charge by the manufacturer to BackpackGearTest.org. Upon completion of the Test Series the writer is permitted to keep the product. Owner Reviews are based on product owned by the reviewer personally unless otherwise noted.

If you are an avid backpacker, we are always looking for enthusiastic, quality reviewers. Apply here to be a gear tester.


All material on this site is the exclusive property of BackpackGearTest.org.
BackpackGearTest software copyright David Anderson