BackpackGearTest
  Guest - Not logged in 

Reviews > Footwear > Boots > Mishmi Takin Kameng Hiking Boot > Test Report by Marina Batzke

MISHMI TAKIN KAMENG MID HIKING BOOT
TEST SERIES BY MARINA BATZKE
LONG-TERM REPORT
January 15, 2018

CLICK HERE TO SKIP TO THE FIELD REPORT
CLICK HERE TO SKIP TO THE LONG-TERM REPORT

TESTER INFORMATION

NAME: Marina Batzke
EMAIL: mbbp2013 (at) yahoo (dot) com
AGE: 57
LOCATION: Los Angeles County, California, USA
GENDER: F
HEIGHT: 5' 5" (1.65 m)
WEIGHT: 132 lb (60.00 kg)

I converted from day hiking and car camping to backpacking in 2013. My backpacking trips are one or two weekend excursions per month in Southern California. The locations range from Joshua Tree National Park desert areas in the cooler months to mountainous elevations in the summer months. I always hike with a group and like the gear talk in camp. While I am looking for ways to lighten my pack, I am not an ultra-lighter: I like sleeping in a tent with a sleeping bag on a comfortable pad. In January 2017, I added snowshoeing to my winter activities.


INITIAL REPORT

PRODUCT INFORMATION & SPECIFICATIONS

Manufacturer: Mishmi Takin International, Florida, USA
Year of Manufacture: 2017
Made in Romania
Manufacturer's Website: http://mishmitakin.com
MSRP: US$230.00
Listed Weight: 22 oz (630 g) for size 42
Measured Weight: 21.8 oz (618 g) for my size 40
Other details:
Available in three color choices: Sunset Orange, Tundra Grey, Moss Green.
Women's Sizes: from EU 36 (US WM 6) to EU 42 ( US WN 10.5)
Men's Sizes: from EU 41 (US M 8.5) to EU 47 (US M 13.5)

INITIAL IMPRESSIONS

The Mishmi Takin Kameng - Mid eVent Waterproof Hiking Boots arrived inside a shoe box. When I opened the box, I noticed a very intense, really strong leather + chemical odor. Quite pungent. Three promotional tags were attached to one of the two boots. The boots are described as ideal for long distance hiking in both hot and wet conditions over mixed terrain.

The Kameng hiking boots have a mid-cut upper for full ankle support. Despite a tall height of 7 in (17.8 cm) from sole bottom to top of scree collar, each boot feels rather light and is easy to balance in one hand.
IMAGE 1
nice looking boot

I immediately loved the burnt orange color of the water and abrasion resistant Suede and Cordura upper. The dark orange tones are accented with grey-black color. A rather unusual boot color and I feel a really cool looking boot!
IMAGE 2
heel cap left - toe bumper right
IMAGE 3
deep lugs

A look at the black Vibram Gironda outsole shows 0.25 in (6.4 mm) deep lugs. The sole rubber has the tradename Vibram Megagrip: a high performance rubber compound, specifically designed to grip on wet and dry surfaces, while providing rugged longevity and optimal support on uneven ground. The sole is 11.25 in (28.6 cm) long front to back.

The Kameng hiking boots have a black abrasion resistant heel cap. All around is a rubber toe rand for additional foot protection. In the front, there is a black rubber toe bumper acting as stone guard.

At the top back, each boot has a stretchy heel section which shall provide comfort when descending slopes. Attached to the boot body and to this stretchy heel section is a sturdy fabric pull tab that shall help pull the boot up over my heel.

Looking at the front, the shoe laces are round and at the lowest point loop through two eyelets on each side. The laces then continue through four orange leather loops on each side. At the highest point are two shoelace hooks on each side. The Kameng hiking boots have a gusseted tongue. Attached to the top of this tongue is a decorative fabric rectangle that shows the Mishmi Takin logo and name on the outside, plus says 'Dare to Explore' on the inside.

Venturing into the inside of the boot, I can squish the inner liner with my fingers. I clearly notice a cushioning foam when pressing into the lining. The Mishmi Takin Kameng hiking boots have a 100% waterproof and highly breathable eVent membrane, which is designed to not let water in plus to vent sweat out. Each boot has a tag on the inside with the shoe size; my boots are UK 7, EU 40, USA L 9, plus the tag says "Made in Romania". The boots are described to have an engraved shank to provide torsional stability and give me support on uneven ground.
IMAGE 4
foot-bed and that small shoe symbol sticker

At the very bottom, my hand touches an OrthoLite foot-bed, designed to cushion and improve foot comfort. I can pull this foamy lightweight foot-bed out. It has a blue fabric surface that my foot will rest on, imprinted: OrthoLite comfort from the inside out. On its underside, the blue foot-bed foam shows the words: breathable, moisture transport, shock absorbing, cushion comfort, anti-microbial, odor fighting. I can easily slide the foot-bed back into the boot bottom.

READING THE INSTRUCTIONS

The boots did not come with any instructions about care or treatment.

A small, easy-to-remove adhesive-backed sticker shows the three shoe sign symbols:
the Kameng's upper is man-made [the sticker does NOT show the leather symbol]; the lining is textile and the outer sole is made from rubber.

TRYING IT OUT

I pulled the Mishmi Takin Kameng boots on, wearing a pair of summer hiking socks. My UK 7, EU 40, USA L 9 boots are a bit generously sized for my feet. In Europe, I usually buy street shoes in size EU 39, while in the US, I own hiking boots in both US WM 8.5 and 9 sizes. Mishmi Takin does not offer Womens boot half sizes, so I had picked the US WM 9, concerned that my feet swell when hiking during the hot summer months and I do not want my toes to hit the front of the boot inner. I will pull the shoe laces tighter to gain a closer fit enveloping my feet.

SUMMARY

LIKES:
burnt orange boot color with dark accents
lightweight
deep lugs
sturdy Vibram sole
firm, strong heel pull tab
contoured foot-bed

NOT SO GREAT:
strong, intense chemical / leather odor that lingers
no women's half shoe sizes


FIELD REPORT

FIELD LOCATIONS AND CONDITIONS

Marion Mountain, San Jacinto State Park, USA
July 2017
3 day/ 2 night backpack 14 miles (22.5 km)
Elevation: 4700 - 10320 ft (1430 - 3145 m)
Temperature: 51 - 65 F (11 - 18 C)

San Jacinto Peak, Southern California, USA
August 2017
2 day/ 1 night backpack 11 miles (17.7 km)
Elevation: 8500 - 10830 ft (2590 - 3300 m)
Temperature: 50 - 74 F (10 - 23 C)

Palos Verdes, Los Angeles County, USA
August 2017
1 day of invasive plant weeding
Elevation: 200 ft (60 m)
Temperature: 81 F (27 C)

Mt. Pinos, Los Padres National Forest, California, USA
September 2017
1 day off-trail navigation 5 miles (8 km)
Elevation: 8850 ft (2700 m)
Temperature: 50 - 70 F (10 - 21 C)

Joshua Tree National Park. Southern California, USA
September 2017
2 day/ 1 night backpack 10 miles (16 km)
Elevation: 4000 - 5800 ft (1200 - 1770 m)
Temperature: 53 - 84 F (12 - 29 C)

Mt . Lowe, Southern California, USA
October 2017
1 day on-trail navigation
Elevation: 5600 ft (1700 m)
Temperature: 95 F (35 C)

Joshua Tree National Park. Southern California, USA
October 2017
2 day/ 1 night backpack 14 miles (22 km)
Elevation: 4000 - 5800 ft (1200 - 1770 m)
Temperature: 53 - 74 F (12 - 23 C)

PERFORMANCE IN THE FIELD

I received the Mishmi Takin Kameng hiking boots on a Thursday, wore them in the office on Friday and hiked up steep 5620 ft (1713 m) over 5 miles (8 km) on Saturday and back down on Sunday. I was pretty impressed that the boots fit really well without trying them on in a shoe store and without any breaking-in period. I noticed one hot spot on the right little toe and immediately put duct tape all around the toe. That helped and I never got a blister despite the steep, relentlessly climbing trail.
IMAGE 1
The boots on San Jacinto

I also wore the boots on a day of invasive plant weeding on a local hill. I had to step on a spade frequently to loosen the soil and afterwards squat to pull the invasive plants out of the loosened soil. I wore the boots rather loose this day, as no hiking but a lot of squatting was involved.
IMAGE 2
weeding invasive plants

The Mt. Pinos navigation event was entirely off-trail. I hiked up and down narrow gullies that had accumulated a variety of obstacles, mostly fallen trees and big boulders. I traversed along hillsides and all throughout the Mishmi Takin Kameng boots provided very good ankle support and grip strength.
IMAGE 3
wearing boots with gaiters in Joshua Tree Nat Park

Both Joshua Tree National Park outings were entirely off-trail. We hiked to camp through dried up, low-growing, clingy and spiky brush on sandy desert floor and at times sank into a ground hole or shallow tunnel. From camp, we hiked up to the peak on a variety of terrain, including ridges, traversing and simply up slopes. The boots provided good stability and foot support. The deep lugs and the Vibram sole always had a good grip and I did not slip or stumble.

The orange boot color has been commented on frequently. My Mishmi Takin boots do stand out in color and I am proudly wearing the noticeable orange. The boots are no longer as bright orange as in the beginning due to a lot of dust and sand exposure. After each of the two Joshua Tree outings, I brushed off the boots with a plastic-bristle brush to remove the spiky thorns and sand.

The pungent, strong odor lingered throughout the first several trips. Really odd that the boots would have such a strong, unpleasant smell at first. Now after several months of use, that pungent odor is long gone.

As I live in Southern California where it is usually hot and dry, I have not had a chance to wear the boots in rain or wading through creeks. Yet I have worn the Mishmi Takin boots on many hot days, such as 84 F (29 C) in Joshua Tree National Park. Once we got back to the trailhead, we were all happy to get our boots off and get some fresh air on our feet again after a long day out hiking on rough terrain. My socks were a bit damp but not wet.

SUMMARY

The Mishmi Takin Kameng Mid hiking boots are lightweight and have provided excellent grip strength and very good ankle support. I am very pleased with their performance.


LONG-TERM REPORT

LONG-TERM TEST LOCATIONS AND CONDITIONS

Anza Borrego Desert State Park, Southern California, USA
October 2017
2 day/ 1 night car camp: 9 miles (14.5 km)
Elevation: 3000 ft (900 m)
Temperature: 58 - 91 F (14 - 33 C)

Valley Forge Campground, Angeles National Forest, California, USA
December 2017
2 day/ 1 night backpack 4.6 mi (7.4 km)
Elevation: 3500 ft (1070 m)
Temperatures: 54 - 70 F (12 - 21 C)
IMAGE 1
covered in dust
IMAGE 2
Red Rock Canyon

Red Rock Canyon State Park, Southern California, USA
December 2017
3 day/ 2 night car camp 10 miles (16 km)
Elevation: 2000 - 3000 ft (600 - 900 m)
Temperature: 36 - 69 F (2 - 21 C)

PERFORMANCE IN THE FIELD

I have used the Mishmi Takin Kameng Mid hiking boots on a variety of terrains on and off trail: sandy desert floors, well-worn hiking trails with occasional roots projecting, rocky boulders and pebbly floors. In all cases, I felt secure and the boots provided great footing.

There were no opportunities to test the boots in rain or while wading through water. It was simply too dry here in Southern California on my outings.

The Mishmi Takin Kameng boots did not cause any blisters on my feet. I want to mention that I cannot remember the last time I got a blister as my feet generally do not blister.
IMAGE 3
My boots after 4 months of use

Before taking this photo, I brushed off the boots with a hand brush and clouds of dust came off, recovering most of the original pleasantly two-tone orange colors. The durable Vibram lug soles show normal wear. All elevated lugs still have their shape (I had trail shoes once where parts of the elevated lugs were torn off after a 4 month test period). I see many more outdoor adventures wearing these boots in my future!

SUMMARY

I have really enjoyed wearing the Mishmi Takin Kameng Mid hiking boots: they are my primary pair of boots right now and I will continue wearing them on my upcoming outings.

Likes:
pleasant boot color
light weight
gripping Vibram sole with deep lugs
firm, strong heel pull tab
contoured foot-bed
great fit on my feet

Thank you to Mishmi Takin and BackpackGearTest.org for the opportunity to test these nicely colored, lightweight and well-fitting Kameng hiking boots.

This report was created with the BackpackGearTest.org Report Writer Version 1. Copyright 2018. All rights reserved.

Read more reviews of Mishmi Takin gear
Read more gear reviews by Marina Batzke

Reviews > Footwear > Boots > Mishmi Takin Kameng Hiking Boot > Test Report by Marina Batzke



Product tested and reviewed in each Formal Test Report has been provided free of charge by the manufacturer to BackpackGearTest.org. Upon completion of the Test Series the writer is permitted to keep the product. Owner Reviews are based on product owned by the reviewer personally unless otherwise noted.

If you are an avid backpacker, we are always looking for enthusiastic, quality reviewers. Apply here to be a gear tester.


All material on this site is the exclusive property of BackpackGearTest.org.
BackpackGearTest software copyright David Anderson