BackpackGearTest
  Home Guest - Not logged in 

Reviews > Footwear > Camp Shoes > Baffin Cush Base Camp Booties > Test Report by Dawn Larsen

Baffin Base Camp Booties
Test Report


Initial Report - 18 January 2012
Field Report
- 27 March 2012
Long Term Report - 29 May 2012

Name:  Dawn Larsen
Age: 51

Gender: female
Height: 5' 4" (163 cm)
Weight: 155 lb (70 kg)
Email address: vicioushillbilly AT gmail DOT com
Florence, South Carolina USA


Backpacking Background:
I used to backpack in college a zillion years ago and just in the last few years have backpacked some private trails in Tennessee, Missouri and most recently South Carolina. I have been an avid car-camper for eleven years and I have kayak/canoe camped for four years, both in South Carolina, Tennessee, Missouri and Arkansas. I use a lot of the same equipment for both. I hike hilly/rocky trails especially in Missouri (my home state) and Arkansas. I live in South Carolina and am busy checking out the terrain here with my eighteen year-old son.

Product Information

Manufacturer: Baffin
Year of Manufacture: 2011
Manufacturer's Website: www.baffin.com
MSRP: $39.99 US
Advertised Weight: none indicated
Measured Weight:  11.75 oz (333 g)
Size Tested:  Large
Color Tested: Black
Other Colors Available:  Navy, Espresso, Merlot, Dusk

Initial Report
18 January 2012

Product Description
These booties are for comfort wear after hiking.  They arrived in a box with the booties and a mesh stuff sack to put them in.  They have, according to the website, "a micro-grip bottom for traction on any surface; above-ankle height for complete coverage; quick-pull front closure for secure fit."  The sizing is unisex, but also includes Youth booties for sizes under a Small (women's US 5/6).  They have a nylon outer shell with fake lamb shearling insoles.  There are two quick-pull closures, one on the top and one around the ankle.  The outer sole is nylon with plastic grips that spell "Polar Proven" in a pattern across the sole.  It feels like there is cardboard between the insole and the outsole.
 
bootiesandbag

Preliminary Observations
I put them on and immediately felt like my feet were nestled in pillows.  I wore them around the house and my feet were incredibly warm.  I couldn't find out what kind of insulation there is, but there is a lot of it.  It feels bonded and is held in place by horizontal stitching.  They are very lightweight and smash down to stuff in a pack.  The soles will curve, but not bend in half.

I wear a US 8.5 B, I asked for the Large, which is women's US 9/10.  I'm glad I did.  I feel like they fit me fine with some room for movement and socks if I choose to wear them.  

I tried them outside in wet leaves and they seemed to work well.  My feet did not get wet and they gripped very well.  I also have hardwood floors throughout my house and the grippers work very well there too.  

Summary
These booties feel great on.  I am anxious to wear them camping very soon.  I think they are really attractive, as well.  

What I like
They are warm.
They are easily adjustable.
Attractive.

What I don't like
No problems so far.


Field Report
27 March 2012


Field Conditions
During this test period, I have worn the booties on 3 camping trips, as well as in my home.

1/28/12 - 2 nights in Myrtle Beach State Park, South Carolina - It was rainy and cold (45 F day [7 C], 35 F [2 C] night)
2/11/12 - 2 nights in Congaree National Park, South Carolina - It was beautiful (55 F day [13 C] and 45 F [7 C] night)
2/25/12 - 1 night in Georgetown, South Carolina on private land.  It was sunny, but chilly (48 F [9 C] day and 37 F [3 C] night) and windy

Observations

These are definitely winter booties and unfortunately, we haven't had much winter this year in South Carolina.  We have had no snow and only a couple of nights below freezing.

I love the way these booties fit. They are so easy to adjust with the elastic adjusters around the ankle and the top of the boot.  I can walk, even in wet leaves, and not feel like they are going to slip off my feet.  Also, because of the elastic around the top, wet grass, pine needles, etc. don't get into the boots.  I like the Sherpa lined footbeds because they grip the sole of my foot.  My foot doesn't slide around inside the booties causing my very weak ankles to turn.  That also may be a product of the more sturdy sole than the other booties I own, which have soft bottoms.  

Speaking of the soles, the traction is great on wet grass and leaves.  

And speaking of wet grass and leaves, South Carolina is like a cold rain forest in the winter.  So I was worried that water would seep in through the booties.  I didn't step in a creek to test, but walking around all night in wet leaves and grass, my feet stayed toasty warm and dry.  However, even though the sole is harder than soft booties, it is still a little soft when stepping on rocks and sticks in the middle of the night without the padding of snow.  

The stuff sack they come with is sort of unnecessary except when storing them indoors.  I stored them in a waterproof sack at camp so they wouldn't get drenched in the rain.  

There are no instructions to be found on the website or with the product concerning cleaning. In an email to the testers, BackpackGearTest's Administrator found out from the manufacturer that the booties should be hand washed with mild soap and water, and then lay them flat to dry.  I'm glad she let us know because I would have machine washed them like I have done with other brands. Baffin should add this information to a tag in the booties.  I took a cloth with mild soap and water to clean the bottoms of the booties.  It worked well.  A couple of the "PolarProven" grippers are flaking off, but I think it's OK at this point.

I also wear these around my house on my wood floors and my feet stay really warm and the traction is great.  

Summary
I am very happy with these booties so far.  I'm sorry it hasn't been colder in this test period, though.  They fit well and most importantly, they keep my feet really warm.  They are much more convenient to slip into after getting out of my hammock in the middle of the night than my hiking boots.

What I liked
They fit well.
They keep my feet really warm
They have great traction.

What I didn't like
The bag is sort of useless.
I still feel rocks and sticks through the sole.


Long Term Report
29 May 2012


a foot

Field Conditions
Wow, so the South Carolina winter was VERY mild this year.  It really warmed up in April.  I went on two car camping trips to Myrtle Beach State Park in South Carolina:
March 30 and 31, 2012 - The weather averaged about 80 F (27 C) during the day and 50 F (10 C) at night.  It was windy and clear.
April 20 and 21, 2012 - The weather was a little warmer at about 85 F (29 C) during the day and and low 50s F (10s C) at night.  It was clear.


Final Observations
Again, I'm sorry that the weather was so warm during this reporting period.  I only wore the booties in the middle of the night when I had to get up and out of my hammock.  They are very convenient for that.  They were too warm for this testing period in South Carolina, however.  

They still fit well.  The adjusters work very well.  They are very comfy.  They have held up well.  As can be seen in the picture below there is just one little spot after 5 wearings that is noticeable on the sole of the boot and would not come off with cleaning.
Though I did not wash them completely, I did spot clean with mild soap and water.  Then, I set them out to dry.  They came out looking almost new.

sole

The bag is still unnecessary.  I actually misplaced it for a while.  It was easier to pack the booties in with my other camping stuff without the bag.  

Summary
These are great winter booties.  I will wear them in the winter in South Carolina and on my trip to Missouri in the winter.  I may even take them to Burning Man because the desert gets very cold at night.  They are so easy to slip on and off.  They adjust very well.

What I liked
They are VERY warm.
They fit great and are easily adjustable.

What I didn't like

The bag is unnecessary.
They were too warm for this South Carolina spring.


This concludes my long term report. Many thanks to Baffin and BackpackGearTest.org for the opportunity to test the Base Camp Booties.

Read more reviews of Baffin gear
Read more gear reviews by Dawn Larsen

Reviews > Footwear > Camp Shoes > Baffin Cush Base Camp Booties > Test Report by Dawn Larsen



Product tested and reviewed in each Formal Test Report has been provided free of charge by the manufacturer to BackpackGearTest.org. Upon completion of the Test Series the writer is permitted to keep the product. Owner Reviews are based on product owned by the reviewer personally unless otherwise noted.

If you are an avid backpacker, we are always looking for enthusiastic, quality reviewers. Apply here to be a gear tester.


All material on this site is the exclusive property of BackpackGearTest.org.
BackpackGearTest software copyright David Anderson