BackpackGearTest
  Guest - Not logged in 

Reviews > Rain Gear > Jackets and Pants > Adidas Climaproof Wandertag Pants > Test Report by joe schaffer

Adidas Outdoors Climaproof Wandertag Pants

Test Report by Joe Schaffer

INITIAL REPORT - November 25, 2016
FIELD REPORT - February 10, 2017
LONG TERM REPORT - April 10, 2017

REVIEWER INFORMATION: pantswithlegopen
NAME: Joe Schaffer
EMAIL: never2muchstuff(at)yahoo(dot)com
AGE: 68
GENDER: Male
HEIGHT: 5 ft 9 in (1.75 m)
WEIGHT: 175 lb (79.4 kg)
WAIST: 34 in (86 cm)
INSEAM: 29 in (74 cm)
HOME:  Bay Area, California USA

     I started backpacking when I was 11. I enjoy California's central Sierras, camping year-round with a goal to match my age in nights out each year; about 30 solo. For comfort I lug tent, mattress, chair and such. Typical summer trips run 5-8 days; 40 lb (18 kg), about half food and water related; about 5 miles (8 km) per hiking day. I winter base camp most often at 6,000 to 7,000 ft (1,800 to 2,000 m); 2 to 3 nights; 50 lb (23 kg); a mile or so (1.6 km) on snowshoes.

INITIAL REPORT

Product: 2.5L Adidas Outdoors Climaproof Wandertag Pant, Men's L

Manufacturer: Adidas; owned by Agron, Inc.
    Website: www.adidas.com

USA Distributor:
  Adidas Outdoor
    Website: www.adidasoutdoor.com
   
Mfr.  Measures:
       Weight: 8.1 oz (230 g)
       Inseam: 32.5 in (83 cm)
       Sizes: S, M, L, XL, XXL
       Colors: Black
   
Description: Lightweight breathable/waterproof two-layer hardshell pants featuring elastic waistband with cord lock drawstring, two hand pockets with water-resistant zips, and 19 in (48 cm) water resistant zipper each leg. Manufacturer says material is 100% water and windproof polyester with durable water-repellent finish for use in extreme weather conditions. Garment stows in the left pocket which will zip shut and offers a hang loop. (Small Pack It tag on the left pocket zipper.) There is a very discreet garment brand logo near the bottom of the left pocket; and a more noticeable treatment brand logo near the bottom of the right pocket. Leg cuffs can be pulled snug with cord lock elastic drawstring. The pants have no fly. Outside is coal black; inside white with tight tan crosshatch.

My Specs:  Men's L
   Weight:  8 3/4 oz (250 g)
   Inseam:  32 in (81 cm)
   Top to bottom:  41 1/2 in (105 cm)
   Circumference at waist (relaxed):  34 1/2 in (88 cm)
   Circumference at leg cuff (relaxed):  19 in (48 cm)
   Rise (crotch-to-top):  12 in (30 cm)
   Pocket zipper length:  7 in (18 cm)
   Pocket-stowed size:  7 x 6 x 3 in (18 x 15 x 8 cm)   

MSRP: $89 US

Received: November 25, 2016

pocket stow
Impressions:
    I count two layers--shell material coated inside; no "buffer" layer to keep the water barrier away from skin. Outside is hard and slick.

    Pockets: Outward-side is mesh, which I don't particularly care for. I'd suggest never mind the right pocket and make the left one all uncoated nylon; it earns its keep as a stow bag. "Floating" pocket construction has a leg up over using the shell as one side. Pockets are right-sized, though as I rarely put anything in shell pant pockets I don't find a zipper useful. Garment stows easily into either pocket. Left pocket's double-sided zipper pull makes zipping easy and also offers the hang loop. I don't foresee using that loop.

    Waistband: I'm not a fan of elastic waistband tension on rain pants; and the stretch cord on these seems rather under-strength. I prefer static closure (ideally grosgrain ribbon with snap buckle) preserving the desired amount of tension to hold the pants in place regardless of what forces may be in play against that objective.

    Leg opening: Long zipper assures being able to get pants easily on and off--wet or dry--with probably any footwear I have.

    Zips: All four water-resistant zippers feel smooth and firm.

    Sizing: Evidently I'm short for my width. I'm fine with the upper end, but the legs are about six in (15 cm) too long. Website sizing chart was helpful. I don't like fussing in rain to get a shell over pants and shoes. I want a looser fit for that reason as well as to reduce the amount of time bare coating stays in contact with bare skin on those most frequent occasions of hiking in shorts. I probably could have gone with Medium, but feared fit issues of a little too snug on the upper end, and still too long anyway. I like the shorter rise as I'm frequently troubled by having to pull rain pants up too far to keep the crotch from tearing (no gang banger is me). I wouldn't mind legs a couple inches (5 cm) longer than I need, but I'll have to think of something to do with so much extra.

    Comfort: They make lots of crinkly noise--not more than any others I have, just more than the softer Wandertag jacket. I wore the pants over jeans for three hours in the house and felt not even a hint of clammy. I sometimes wear a shell against wind chill as I lounge in camp and I don't like getting soggy inside. I've never had a shell stay dry inside while I'm lugging a backpack unless the temperature is so low my pores are frozen.

    Yes or no? Excessive leg length for me requires a solution. Other than that, these pants have made a very favorable initial impression.

FIELD REPORT
Field conditions:
   
12/24/16: Briones Regional Park, California. Two-mile (3 km) hike; 3 hours wearing time over hiking shorts; temp 50 F (10 C).
    1/1-2/17: Gooseberry, Stanislaus National Forest, California. Two hours camp use one day and one mi (1.5 km) one hour sled towing; 30 F (-2 C), windy, snowing.

Impressions:
    I shortened the pants 4 in (10 cm) and the length is satisfactory. The length would be perfect if the elastic draw cord had the muscle to hold the pants up, but they tend to work their way down a bit. Most importantly, I was quite impressed with the comfort. I expected to get wet inside below the shorts cuff, but no moisture developed. The temperature was low enough and the hike easy enough I wasn't working hard, but initial signs of breathability are good. There was just a slight breeze and none of that air found its way through the fabric.

    The first camp use day was sunny but chilly and windy. I found the pants did a good job of cutting the wind without getting smarmy at rest. I wore them over a medium base layer. The hiking day was an easy sled tow over new powder and I didn't work hard. I had hiking shorts and base layer under the pants, and knee-high breathable gaiters. I stayed dry for this short hike, and found the pants easy enough to get off while leaving my shoes on.

LONG TERM REPORT
Field conditions:
    2/11-13/17: Blodgett Forest, El Dorado National Forest, California. No hiking; camp sitting for 2 hours. 35 F (2 C) calm.
    2/28-3/3/17: Herring Creek, Stanislaus National Forest, California. Conditions dry and too warm for hiking in pants; couple hours camp sitting after sundown.
    4/12/17: Sidewalking, 60 F (16 C), blustery, teensie bit of precipitation; 3 mi (5 km), 1 hour; worn over boxers.

Impressions:
    Camp use, sitting around in the early evening cold waiting for nature to light the campfire. There wasn't much air movement to cut, though the dampness was heavy being camped on snow under clear sky.

    The weather's been so wet as to impact my outing preferences and production, though I struggle to fuss over not getting rained on. As threatening as matters looked on my sortie to the post office it seems the gods were against getting things wet during this test. Once again, however, I was impressed with how well the pants ventilated. Even over a lot of bare skin and in warm temps I still didn't get sticky inside. With only a few sprinkles on the outside I can't say how they'd feel saturated.

    My only bitsy nit is that they make a lot of rustling noise.

    I am quite impressed with how well the pants work; and especially that they can fold up into such a small and light package.

Quick shots:

  
a) light
    b) breathable
    c) too long  
    Thank you Adidas Outdoor and BackpackGearTest.org for the opportunity to test these pants. This concludes the test for this product.




Read more reviews of Adidas gear
Read more gear reviews by joe schaffer

Reviews > Rain Gear > Jackets and Pants > Adidas Climaproof Wandertag Pants > Test Report by joe schaffer



Product tested and reviewed in each Formal Test Report has been provided free of charge by the manufacturer to BackpackGearTest.org. Upon completion of the Test Series the writer is permitted to keep the product. Owner Reviews are based on product owned by the reviewer personally unless otherwise noted.

If you are an avid backpacker, we are always looking for enthusiastic, quality reviewers. Apply here to be a gear tester.


All material on this site is the exclusive property of BackpackGearTest.org.
BackpackGearTest software copyright David Anderson