BackpackGearTest
  Guest - Not logged in 

Reviews > Sleep Gear > Quilts and Blankets > Rumpl Original Puffy Blanket > Test Report by Kelsea Krawetz

RUMPL PUFFY BLANET

TEST SERIES BY KELSEA KRAWETZ

Initial Report May 24, 2017

Field Report July 25, 2017

Long Term Report September 19, 2017

Reviewer Information

Name: Kelsea Krawetz
Email: KelseaDOTkrawetzATgmailDOTcom

Age: 21
Gender: Female
Location: Fernie, British Columbia, Canada
Height: 5' 9" (1.8 meters)
Weight: 125 lbs (57 kilos)

Backpacking Background: I have been backpacking my whole life, all over Colorado and British Columbia.  I enjoy glacier, mountaineering, and ocean based backpacking trips.  I carry a 65L pack; however I tend to pack lightweight gear.  I hike with groups of friends, and I try to cover as much distance and elevation as I can in a single day.  By the evenings, I like to cook hot meals, enjoy warm drinks, and relax under the stars in my hammock on clear nights.  When the weather gets more aggressive, I carry my freestanding tent.   

 



INITIAL REPORT

May 14, 2017

 


Manufacturer Info

Manufacturer: Rumpl, Inc.
Website: https://www.gorumpl.com
Size: 1-Person
Weight: 3.1 lbs (1.41 kg)
Blanket size: 80 in (203 cm) X 54 in (137 cm)
Colour:  Jam Red / Cyan
MSRP: $99 USD

 
Manufacturer Description (from tag)

Made from the same stuff as premium sleeping bags and puffy jackets.  20D ripstop nylon shell with a DWR shield is durable, water resistant, and rated to 45 F (7.2 C).  The synthetic insulation is designed to mimic the softness of down, but is machine washable.  The blanket packs down via stuff sack.

 

My Measurements

Weight (blanket and stuff sack): 2.8 lbs (1.25 kg)
Stuffed size: 18.5 in (47cm) X 7.5 in (3.4 kg)
Blanket size: 80 in (203 cm) X 53 in (135 cm)

 

My Description

I received a jam red / cyan Rumpl blanket.  The body of the blanket reminds me more of a maroon than a jam red.  The stitching and the outer seams are true to the cyan colour description.  The product is stuffed with synthetic insulation. It is hemmed with cyan, horizontal stitching creating 6.5 in (16.5 cm) sections.  Near the middle of the blanket, the stitching curves and forms a wave-like pattern.  Near the bottom corner of the blanket there is a 0.75 in (1.9 cm) wide black tag.  The logo of “Rumpl” is stitched into the tag using a cyan thread.

                                                                                                                               

The stuff sack is the same maroon colour as the blanket, but is made of a thin nylon.  It is cylindrical in shape, and can be closed using a barrel lock at the top of the bag.  The drawstring and clamp are cyan, to match the other accent colours.  “The Original Rumpl Puffy Blanket” is printed on the face of the sack.  The same logo surrounded by two cyan circles can be found at the toe of the sack.  There is another 0.75 in (1.9 cm) wide black nylon tag along the bottom of the sack with “Rumpl” logo stitched in cyan.  Another loop is stitched using maroon nylon and hugs the side of the sack.  A third black nylon loop is located directly under the drawstring portion of the sack.

 

 


Impressions

I was giddy after first taking my Rumpl out of its stuff sack.  I was under the impression this blanket was down, but at a closer glance I realized it was synthetic.  But the material still feels still feels cozy and plush. 

There is a nice contrast between the warm maroon and bright cyan colours; which I find very soothing.  The wave-like pattern stitched into the nylon also looks lovely when laid out on the ground.

Initially I tried to roll this blanket into the stuff sack.  After many unsuccessful attempts, I gave up and crunched the blanket in.  It fit quite nicely and closed completely using the drawstring.  After removing the blanket, the nylon had become heavily creased and appeared crinkly.

I took this blanket on a quick rock climbing trip to Canmore, Alberta.  The wind was quite bitter, and the nylon material kept the breeze from cutting through to my skin.  There was plenty of room for two humans to cuddle up.  

 

I tried to make use of some of the gear loops by hooking a carabineer to my backpack (shown in the image above).  I’m not positive what all the gear loops on the stuff sack are for, but I’ll try to get creative in using them during future trips.  I found the stuff sack rather bulky and had a difficulty fitting the blanket into my pack.  I think this would become an issue when I test this blanket backpacking since I only carry a 65L pack and I have limited space for the essentials. 

I’ve have rather thin skin and I rarely find a night where I’m not cold, even in my 3-season sleeping bag.  I am curious to see how warm I stay within the limits the blanket, 45 F (7 C), considering I have always used a sleeping bag.

 

Quick Shots:

Stylish, contemporary look
Cozy
Bulky/heavy
Spill proof, water resistant

 

 


FIELD REPORT

July 25, 2017

Field Locations

Stonehill Montana, USA
When: June 2015
Length: 2 days/1 night
Mileage: 5 miles (8 km)
Elevation: 2,600 ft (800 m)
Weather: Hot and sunny in the day, cold and windy in the night - High: 85 F (30 C), Low: 50 F (10 C)
Trail Conditions: well-maintained trail, easy route finding, no elevation gain 

Mount Jofree via Aster Lake, BC Canada
When: July 2015
Length: 3 days/2 nights
Mileage: 25 miles (40 km)
Elevation: highest 11,300 ft (3,500 m) to lowest 5,600 ft (1,700 m)
Weather: Hot at lower elevations, cool and windy and high elevations, cold at night - High: 90 F (32 C), Low: 40 F (4 C)
Trail Conditions: rocky, steep trail; no trail after campsite

 

Performance in the Field

I tried sleeping in my Rumpl for a night in my hammock in Stonehill, Montana.  I used my sleeping mat underneath me for warmth.  Unfortunately, I was getting too cold and I had to turn in the blanket for a sleeping bag.  In the morning, I placed my Rumpl on top of me again and it was a nice protector against the cool breeze.  After this trial, I planned on giving this blanket another go in a tent, but unfortunately, I wasn’t optimistic about using this blanket for night sleeping purposes if the temperature was very low.

 As a subsidy, I’ve been bringing this blanket rock climbing.  Everyone seems to fight over cozying up in it while chilling around the crag.  I feel sheltered from the wind and it’s a nice cushion to sit on to protect your bum from the hard ground.  Using Rumpl’s social media accounts as an inspiration, I’ve been lugging it up waterfalls, dayhikes, and car camping trips in order to tests it’s endurance as a comfort blanket.  And boy, is the thing durable! It repels dust, coffee stains (that was completely an accident), and keeps the bugs off me!

 My Rumpl also accompanied me on a three day long ski mountaineering trip up Mount Joffre in Kananasis, BC. Since the blanket is heavier than I am used to and I was pressed for space, I couldn’t afford to bring both my Rumpl and my sleeping bag.  In exchange, I brought along a sleeping bag liner incase the nights got too cold.  My tent was much warmer than my past experience with the hammock so I used my Rumpl like a taco and tried to curl up to stay warm.  However, I still had to resort to the sleeping bag liner and cozy next to my tent partner for warmth.  Additionally, I was rather pleased with the packability of this blanket.  I was able to stuff it nicely into the bottom compartment of my pack.  Yay! 

Quick Shots
Comfortable, durable, packable, fancy in photos

Summary
So far I see this blanket being used for car camping or lounging.  Although it is warm, it doesn’t provide me with the insulation or packability I desire while backpacking.  I’ll continue to bring this blanket with me as a lounge blanket, but I intend to take it on some warmer backpacking trips.  I think if I brought this to hut-to-hut backpacking, it would be perfect for me in backcountry bunks!


LONG TERM REPORT

September 19, 2017

Field Locations

Smith Rock Oregon, USA
When: August 2017
Length: 5 days/4 nights (two nights spent in my hammock)
Mileage: 3 miles (4.8 km)
Elevation: 3,000 ft (914 m)
Weather: Hot and sunny in the day, hot and dry at night - High: 100 F (38 C), Low: 65 F (18 C)
Trail Conditions: well-maintained trail but steep and dusty, easy route finding

 

Performance in the Field

Despite many cold nights in this blanket, it proved to be perfect for my trip to Smith Rock.  From spreading it out in the grass and lounging in the day, to cuddling up in my tent or hammock at night, I finally found the perfect temperature for this blanket.  It was nice to have the open side in my taco set up, which made my nights a bit cooler in the hot desert.  The blanket was also big enough for two and I enjoyed cozying up with my partner under the stars in my hammock. 

 

Long Term Remarks

The past four months spent with my cozy stylish Rumpl have been a blast.  The blanket wasn’t warm enough for me in low temperatures, but I enjoyed it on warm nights and as a car camping and chillin’ blanket.  On my 40 F (4 C) and 50 F (10 C) nights I found the blanket too cold, but on my 65 F (18 C) night at Smith Rock I found the blanket just right.  The blanket is rated to 45 F (7 C), but personally I would say the blanket should be rathed to 50 F (10 C) or higher.  I would like to note that I slept with this blanket many other nights not mentioned in my FR and LTR in car camping scenarios.

Even though this blanket didn’t fair warm enough for the cold, Canadian backcountry, I wouldn’t say that this blanket wouldn’t work for backpacking.  Overall it is fairly light for a synthetic blanket, and has the potential to be compressed with a stuff sack.  It is made of a durable material, which never failed in the duration of my testing period.  I spilled some of water and coffee on the blanket during testing, none of which became embedded in the blanket.  It’s easy to clean, and dirt and dust can be brushed off easily.  I used this blanket a lot as a climbing/cragging/lounging blanket, and it became one of my favourite day time items to lounge with.  It partnered well with my hammock on warm nights and I enjoy how soft and cushy it is.

 

Pros
Stylish, durable, cozy, good for 2 people, good for hammocking/car camping/warm weather

Cons
Not the best in cooler temperatures

 

Summary

My Rumpl performed well for the past four months.  I look forward to future trips with this blanket.  I plan on using it for desert camping or lounging around in the future.  If I ever decide to live out of a van this will be my blanket of choice for the interior. 

This concludes my Long Term Report and the test series for the Rumpl Puffy blanket.  I would like to thank Rump and Rumpl and BackpackGearTest.org for the amazing opportunity to test this product.




Read more reviews of Rumpl gear
Read more gear reviews by Kelsea Krawetz

Reviews > Sleep Gear > Quilts and Blankets > Rumpl Original Puffy Blanket > Test Report by Kelsea Krawetz



Product tested and reviewed in each Formal Test Report has been provided free of charge by the manufacturer to BackpackGearTest.org. Upon completion of the Test Series the writer is permitted to keep the product. Owner Reviews are based on product owned by the reviewer personally unless otherwise noted.

If you are an avid backpacker, we are always looking for enthusiastic, quality reviewers. Apply here to be a gear tester.


All material on this site is the exclusive property of BackpackGearTest.org.
BackpackGearTest software copyright David Anderson