BackpackGearTest
  Guest - Not logged in 

Reviews > Clothing > Socks > Point6 Hiking Tech Heavy Crew Socks > Test Report by jerry adams

POINT6 TREKKING TECH HEAVY CREW SOCKS
TEST SERIES BY JERRY ADAMS
LONG-TERM REPORT

INITIAL REPORT - October 29, 2015
LONG TERM REPORT - March 12, 2016

TESTER INFORMATION

NAME: Jerry Adams
EMAIL: jerryaadamsatyahoodotcom
AGE: 62
LOCATION: Portland, Oregon, USA
GENDER: m
HEIGHT: 6' 1" (1.85 m)
WEIGHT: 195 lb (88.50 kg)

I started hiking about 45 years ago. My first backpacking trip was 40 years ago. I currently try to do one backpack trip of 1 to 5 nights every month (which can be tricky in the winter). Mostly I stay in the Western half of Oregon and Washington. In recent years I have shifted to lightweight - my pack weight without food and water is about 12 lb (6 kg). I make a lot of my own gear - silnylon tarp-tent, bivy, synthetic bag, simple bag style pack.


INITIAL REPORT

PRODUCT INFORMATION & SPECIFICATIONS

Manufacturer: Point6
Year of Manufacture: 2015
Manufacturer's Website: http://www.point6.com
MSRP: US $21.95
Listed Weight: N/A
Measured Weight: 4.1 oz (116 g) for a pair of size XL

The Point6 Trekking Tech Heavy Cushion socks are intended for hiking and backpacking. They are made from Merino wool with 18% Nylon and 2% Spandex.

They come in sizes small, medium, large, and extra large. I got the extra large. I have size 13 shoes.

They come in colors Black, Taupe (brown), and Gray. I got the gray.

I got three pairs of socks to test. I'll try all three, but mostly I'll just use one for my testing.

Point6 also makes socks intended for other applications like skiing, cycling, running, and construction.

Point6 stands for 98.6 F (37 C), the nominal human body temperature, suggesting they'll keep my feet warm.

Right and left side of socks:

IMAGE 1

The socks are mostly a dark gray, with light gray areas, and a red "point" logo on one side. They feel quite thick.

The light gray areas are mostly at the heel and toes for reinforcement and durability. The area at the heel makes it fit better and slip less. The area at the toes is very smooth. There's a seam at the top of the toes, which I can feel. I don't think this will be uncomfortable, but testing will tell.

The top welt (cuff) is designed to keep the socks up. My testing will verify. It feels good so far. Inside the socks, in red, is the style and size.

Point6 is located in Steamboat Springs Colorado. The socks are made in the U.S. with imported yarn. Point6 was founded by Peter and Patty Duke. They previously founded SmartWool and sold it.

Their guarantee is "If for any reason you are dissatisfied with our products we will be happy to offer an exchange or a full refund of the product cost".

The instructions say to machine wash warm and turn inside out for best results (to reduce pilling I suppose). I'll try to remember to turn them inside out when washing.

The socks go up to bottom of my calf:

IMAGE 2

Packaging information:

IMAGE 3

INITIAL IMPRESSIONS

Point6 makes a bunch of socks in different sizes and weights. Trekking Tech Heavy Crew are crew size which goes up to my calf. Point6 has light, medium, heavy, and extra heavy socks so the heavy weight of the Trekking Tech Heavy Crew is towards the heavy end of what Point6 sells. The heavy weight should provide extra warmth for cold weather, which I should be able to test because winter is approaching. Also, the heavy weight should make them more comfortable. I prefer socks that are lighter, because moving my feet with extra weight is tiring, but I don't think I'll notice it because the extra weight is a small amount.

I think maybe these socks aren't quite as high as some socks I've used, but that may be a good thing because they weigh less and the extra height isn't very useful in my experience.

I tried the socks on. The socks go up to 10.5 inches (27 cm) from the floor. The size XL fits pretty good on my size 12.5 (US men's) feet. They say that size XL is for size 12-14.5 (US mens). Based on how they feel, this is probably pretty accurate.

They feel very thick. Not itchy which is what I would expect with Merino wool.

Examining all three pairs carefully, I didn't see any workmanship errors. Everything is even. No loose threads.

Summary

The Point6 Trekking Tech Heavy Crew socks are heavy weight Merino socks with a little synthetic for durability and stretch.

I will test these socks on about two trips during the Field Report period and two trips during the Long Term report period. Each trip will be about 3 or 4 nights of backpacking. I'll be expecting colder, rainier weather.


LONG-TERM REPORT

LONG-TERM TEST LOCATIONS AND CONDITIONS

November 5, 2015 - 3 mile (5 km) day hike on Oregon coast. 50 F (10 C). Dry. Gravel road.

November 21, 2015 - 42 mile (68 km) backpack on Olympic Peninsula beach in northwest Washington. 3 nights backpack and 3 nights car camp. 400 feet (120 m) elevation gain. 30 to 45 F (-1 to 7 C).

Relaxing:
IMAGE 1

December 12, 2015 - 31 mile (51 km) backpack next to Deschutes River in north Oregon. 2 nights backpack and 2 nights car camp. 500 feet (150 m) elevation gain. 29 to 40 F (-2 to 5 C).

December 31, 2015 - 32 mile (52 km) backpack on Olympic Peninsula beach in northwest Washington. 3 nights backpack and 3 nights car camp. 900 feet (275 m) elevation gain. 25 to 35 F (-4 to 2 C).

On the beach of the Olympic Peninsula:
IMAGE 2

January 21, 2016 - 40 mile (65 km) backpack next to Deschutes River in central Oregon. 3 nights backpack and 3 nights car camp. 600 feet (180 m) elevation gain. 31 to 45 F (-1 to 7 C).

February 20, 2016 - 37 miles (60 km) backpack and car camp on lower Metolius River in central Oregon. 2 nights backpack and 4 nights car camp. 3900 feet (1200 m) elevation gain. 22 to 55 F (-6 to 13 C).

PERFORMANCE IN THE FIELD

Overall, I was very satisfied with the Point6 Trekking Tech Heavy Crew socks.

During the testing period I walked 185 miles (298 km), 6300 feet (1900 m) elevation gain, 13 nights of backpacking, and 15 nights of car camping. I washed them 6 times.

I did most of my use with one pair of socks. I used the second pair of socks for a few days. I used the third pair of socks for one day. They were all comfortable.

I wore light breathable calf high gaiters on almost all my hiking. This kept the socks pretty dry. I wore waterproof breathable shoes so after the end of the day, the socks got a little damp from sweat, but never wet from rain.

I did a wide range of hiking, mostly level on developed trails but some off trail steep up and down. The socks were very comfortable. Once I got a small blister - maybe from a rock or something.

The temperature was from 22 to 55 F (-6 to 13 C). I also wore them when sleeping over night. The socks kept me warm.

The socks never slipped down on my calves. Yet they weren't too tight either. The amount of elastic was just right.

Each time before I washed the socks, they didn't smell too bad, even after wearing them for up to six days. This is typical for other merino socks I've used.

At the end of the testing I examined the socks carefully and saw little sign of wear. There were no thin spots. There was a minor amount of pilling, but this was just cosmetic.

I carefully compared the pair of socks I wore the most, with the pair that I only wore once and could see little difference. There is no point posting a picture because they look identical. There is no difference in the thickness. The socks that I wore a lot had a small amount of pilling (which is just cosmetic) and were a little softer (which if anything would be a positive).

I never tested the socks in hot weather. Since these socks are heavy they're probably not the best choice for this.

SUMMARY

I was quite satisfied with the Point6 Trekking Tech Heavy Crew socks. These are on par with the best socks I've used.

They were comfortable hiking, and they provided good warmth.

Normally I use less heavy socks to save some weight, but this is really negligible. Maybe if it was hot I'd choose a lighter/cooler pair of socks.

I saw little signs of wear at the end of my testing.

I'll continue to use these socks in the future, until they wear out or I test another pair of socks.

Thanks to Point6 and BackpackGearTest.org for letting me test these.

This report was created with the BackpackGearTest.org Report Writer Version 1.5 Copyright 2016. All rights reserved.

Read more reviews of Point6 gear
Read more gear reviews by jerry adams

Reviews > Clothing > Socks > Point6 Hiking Tech Heavy Crew Socks > Test Report by jerry adams



Product tested and reviewed in each Formal Test Report has been provided free of charge by the manufacturer to BackpackGearTest.org. Upon completion of the Test Series the writer is permitted to keep the product. Owner Reviews are based on product owned by the reviewer personally unless otherwise noted.

If you are an avid backpacker, we are always looking for enthusiastic, quality reviewers. Apply here to be a gear tester.


All material on this site is the exclusive property of BackpackGearTest.org.
BackpackGearTest software copyright David Anderson